Are YOU ready for a FAST180?

With the new release of Money on the Table, I look back in time and realize that my personal FAST180 began on April 10th, 2008. That was the day Dr. Ivan Misner agreed to sit and listen to me ramble, hope and dream about my idea for a book on power teams.

The meeting had been prearranged. An old mentor of mine told me many moons ago that if you want to hunt for elephants, go to Africa. Wanna surf? Hit the beach. I got the point. Possessed with the notion of Dr. Misner co-authoring the book, I took advantage of his appearance at a Referral Institute event in Scottsdale, Arizona to schedule a few minutes of his time. To be perfectly honest, I had no idea what would happen after that.

The hotel’s large theater-style meeting room was packed. Presentations from the stage crackled with energy as one excellent Referral Institute speaker after another shared their networking and referral wisdom with the rest of us. Pulling me aside and telling me that he’d be swamped during the breaks, Dr. Misner suggested that we slip out of the meeting room to sit down and talk in a quiet corner of the hotel lobby.

The moment of opportunity I had been visualizing in my mind for months was happening… right now! We found a table, sat down, and Dr. Misner asked me to tell him about the book.

I explained that the book would be an easy-to-follow system for building a power team with a new twist on recognizing and converting commonly overlooked referral opportunities. He asked a few questions and told me that he liked the ideas. “Color me interested,” was his exact quote. That my friends, was the moment my personal FAST180 took a turn in the right direction.

Now, just over three years later, the power team book has evolved into Money on the Table, literally, figuratively, and any other way imaginable. This blog was used to flesh out the bulk of the material that ultimately made it into the book. With the book now complete, I’m on a mission to share its lessons, tools and strategies with business people from all industries who are interested in creating more, better quality referrals for their networking partners and of course, themselves.

Last point: If you spend a moment looking at this blog you will notice that other than this current post, it’s been over a year since any new content was featured here. During that time I made a transition from real estate broker to business referral guru and Senior Vice President of Consulting for MaxAvenue, an intellectual property and consulting firm specializing in real estate. Most of the material for the book had already been finished when I made the career switch, and as a result, the blog became a forgotten piece of my FAST180 puzzle.

Until now… That’s right – the Adventures in Networking blog is back! Sometimes you’ve gotta do a “slow 360” and come full circle to complete a FAST180. In other words, with Money on the Table finally in print, the blog has returned as a viable outlet for power team news, ideas, upcoming events and Money on the Table success stories.

Thank you for visiting! Please check back often or subscribe for updates. These are wild and wacky times and I am excited to find out what happens next, as our adventure in networking continues…

2 Responses to Are YOU ready for a FAST180?

  1. So when can we get our hands on this great book?

Leave a Reply

